European Union Centres

Following the launch of the EU Centre initiative in the US and Canada in 1998, 29 European Union Centres exist now in universities in the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Singapore and Taiwan (List of EU Centres as of 21 May 2014 pdf - 49 KB [49 KB] ). Since 2011, 6 new EU Centres have opened in Russia and since June 2012, 2 new centres opened in Hong-Kong and Macao increasing the number to 37 Centres throughout the world. Other countries may be interested in the initiative and could follow.

Please click on this link to view the Google Map showing the current EU Centres financed by the EU.

The objectives of the EU Centres are threefold:

  1. To promote greater understanding of the EU, its institutions and its policies by establishing a network of EU centres in universities providing information and education activities about the EU;
  2. To disseminate information and EU views on issues of interest within regional communities; 
  3. To increase awareness about the political, economic and cultural importance of the relationship between the EU and the specific country.

The EU Centres are involved in a broad range of activities to fulfil their objectives, ranging from curricular activities (teaching programmes) to research on EU-related topics, as well as outreach activities related to EU and its policies. Networking between EU Centres pdf - 2 MB [2 MB] has also been enhanced with the creation of national network websites and a world networking meeting of EU centres organised every 2 years. The first one in 2008 took place in Brussels with the 20 existing Centres at the time, followed by a second meeting in Madrid in 2010 with 26 centres. The latest edition took place in October 2012 in Brussels with the current 37 centres.

New Brochure 2012 pdf - 2 MB [2 MB]