Eastern Partnership

The Eastern Partnership (EaP) is a joint initiative involving the EU, its Member States and 6 eastern European partners: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and  Ukraine.

It is based on a commitment to the principles of international law and fundamental values - democracy, the rule of law, human rights and fundamental freedoms. It also encompasses support for a market economy, sustainable development and good governance.

The EU and partner countries leaders meet every other year in Eastern Partnership Summits. The latest Eastern partnership Summit Declaration , agreed in May 2015 in Riga, reviewed the cooperation and provided the direction for further joint action.

Read more

Key Documents

Subscribe to Newsletters and alerts


Eastern Partnership Summit, Riga - Doorstep by Federica MOGHERINI

LIVE Eastern Partnership Summit, Riga - arrivals, group photo, roundtable

Towards a new European Neighbourhood Policy: the EU launches a consultation on the future of its relations with neighbouring countries

High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the Commission Federica Mogherini and Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations Johannes Hahn are launching today a consultation on the future of the European Neighbourhood Policy(ENP)

Countries concerned